Zhetysu or Land of the Seven Rivers

Zhetysu, "Land of the Seven Rivers" in Kazakh (Semirechye in Russian), is the name of the region between the Lake Balkhash and the mountain range of Tien Shan in southeast Kazakhstan. The seven rivers are actually flowing from the slopes of the Tien Shan mountains into Lake Balkhash.

Category: Geography   |   Last Update: 23-10-2016   |